Search This Blog

What are the five pillars of Islam?

  1. Faith or belief in the Oneness of Allah and the finality of the prophethood of Muhammad; (Iman)
  2. Establishment of the daily prayers; (Salah)
  3. Concern for and almsgiving to the needy; (Zakah)
  4. Self-purification through fasting; and (Sawm)
  5. The pilgrimage to Makkah for those who are able. (Hajj)

In order to be perfect in their faith, a Muslim must complete all five of these, unless they have a good excuse for not going on the Hajj.